Quantity: 1 available
(No place, no publisher, no date). Caption title, 4 leaves. A program for a concert by the students of the New England Asylum for the Blind, founded in 1829. In 1831 Samuel Gridley Howe, a physician and the husband of Julia Ward Howe, was chosen to lead the Asylum. The name was changed in 1839 to the Perkins Institute for the Blind after a large donation by businessman Thomas Perkins. It still operates successfully, now in Watertown, Mass. There is an anonymous 13 line review of this concert in "The Musical Magazine" for May 11, 1839, p.160: "...a most interesting and remarkable performance." The selections with lyrics are printed here - Charles T. Brooks, poet, translator, Unitarian minister, and transcendentalist, is credited for several of the translations from the German of these poems and hymns set to music. Not in BAL nor OCLC. Most of the selections also appear, translator unattributed, in "The Boston Glee Book", 1839, copyright 1838, also absent from BAL - most of those differ from the Brooks versions included here. Clearly a scarce Brooks item, perhaps unique. A few minor creases and light foxing. A Fine copy.
Title: Concert by the Blind, at the Odeon, May 6, 1839.
Item: 1.00 Item
Seller ID: [brooks,charlestimothy]275(noplace,nopublisher,n